I Need Answers

I never understood why I should go through life constantly condemning myself for some great sin that was supposedly committed by the first human who ever lived.

I never understood why every Sunday I must kneel down and confess that I have been a bad boy when in fact, I try to live my life in as good a way as possible.

I never understood why I must always be consumed with whether I will be sentenced to an eternity of suffering when I die and that I am constantly under observation in all that I say or do or even think of doing.

I never understood why I must devote my entire life to the memory of some Jew who died over two centuries ago.

Maybe it’s because I don’t like to spend my whole life thinking about death and suffering when there is so much about living that I should be thinking about and enjoying.

But then again, maybe I have the whole thing wrong and life is not to be enjoyed but to endure suffering.

But I don’t think so.

This entry was posted in Agnosticism, Atheism, Christianity, God, Philosophy, Religion, Secularism, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Need Answers

  1. “Maybe it’s because I don’t like to spend my whole life thinking about death and suffering when there is so much about living that I should be thinking about and enjoying.”

    indeed. Christianity, and so many other religions, are no more than cults to death.

    • Death and suffering seem to be the main pillars of Christianity and when they are not talking about death and suffering, they are emphasizing how sinful and decadent we all are and insisting that we so desperately need to be saved. Really? I don’t need that in my life. It’s not good for my self esteem.

Leave a comment